Welcome to my blog!

720

My name is Alec Simkiss. I’m a 21-year-old journalism student at Western Carolina University with a minor in Film Studies and a minor in Philosophy. I write for the Western Carolina Journalist as a photographer, and an arts & entertainment editor. I’ve been writing for the Journalist since my first semester Sophomore year, and I largely write about concerts and shows here on campus given my background in theater and my general love for the arts.

I hope to turn this blog into a fully-fledged review and news blog where I keep up to date with all the things that excite me. There are a lot of reviewers out there, but I firmly believe I’ve got a knack for analysis and objectivity. What I want to do is provide detailed analyses of the innovative and intricate nature of stories, technology, and the impact of what these leave on their audiences. I won’t be able to shut up about them because these stories are my life. However, I get excited about pretty much anything horror/thriller and comics related, so that’s a large portion of what I’m going to focus on. I won’t forget about music or movies, because those are also passions of mine.

pink-lemonade
A drink I would love to have. Photo found on Zestuous.

So, the question I’d hope you’d be asking is: why Pink Lemon Arcade? I’m obsessed with pink lemonade and the classic look of arcade machines, honestly. The latter is easily to discern, but why pink lemon? Back in an old teen writer’s workshop program for NCSU in the good year 2014, I went to the N.C. Museum of Art. There was a certain painting in one of their new exhibits that looked like the color of pink lemonade I’d usually get from local grocery stores, and my thirst for it increased dramatically. I commented on it and then I realized how much I wanted a glass of pink lemonade. I couldn’t shut up about it, and it was to the point it was annoying everybody. This lead to a wild goose chase of my friends and I running from vending machines to the food court there trying to get a drink of pink lemonade. Alas, there was none. Thankfully, once I finally made it back home there was some ready for me in the fridge.

My friends briefly referred to me as a pink lemon, weirdly enough. Around this time, since I was graduating high school, I got my first iPhone. I had no idea what to put as my social media accounts (instragram, snapchat, etc.) that was cool or clever, and everybody had to have a cool, interesting or funny name. How else would you stay relevant? This had happened recently to Museum event, so it was obvious. I became…pink lemon. The colors seem to suit my personal aesthetic, anyhow.

A good word to define who I am and my personality: alacrity. According to Merriam-Webster, alacrity means: promptness in response, cheerful readiness. I’m cheerful and hopeful and willing to approach and accomplish anything with a good attitude, unless I’ve got good and informed reasons not to be. That’s my goal in how I’m going to structure this blog.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter @pinklemonarcade or hit me up on my page on Facebook! Don’t be afraid to tweet or send me an email recommending me something new you’d like to see covered!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

