It: Trailer Review

IT. If you don’t know, the story is about the adventures of seven children as they’re terrorized by a nameless, shapeless evil that dwells in the sewers of a small town. The book terrorized many and was made into a miniseries that left scars on many viewers that have lasted a lifetime. This trailer is the remake of that miniseries, instead hitting the silver screen September 8, 2017.

It’s finally here. I had heard/read rumors for awhile that left me skeptical about this project; with creative issues and directions switching from different people, Skarsgård getting casted, everyone’s obsession with remakes (WHY GOD WHY?!?), and while I haven’t excessively watched the original miniseries I’m never going to forget Tim Curry’s terrifying performance. But… it’s here.

Oh, HELL YES. I am so excited for this movie! I LOVE horror and especially Stephen King! I read excessively as a kid. Pretty much all of the books that were my reading level bored me, so I consumed a lot of adult horror – much to my parents’ discontent. Why? I loved the thrill and at that age I wanted to be different than everybody else. I played M-rated games (Perfect Dark, Golden Eye) at my cousin’s house and watched my first R-rated films at around the same time (I suffered from many nightmares because of this). A little edgy, yes, but that’s besides the point. Stephen King is my favorite childhood author. This trailer looks incredible and I’m definitely going to see it opening weekend (until I see otherwise that I shouldn’t).

It stars Bill Skarsgård in the title role of Pennywise the Clown, along with Stranger Things’ Finn Wolfhard as Richie Tozier. Directed by Andrés Muschietti (Mama), the film will be split in two sequels if the first film does well. The first will be dedicated to exploring Pennywise’s origin, power and influence over the town of Derry and the effects on the Loser’s Club (the group of kids at the core of the story), and another focused on when they are adults and coming to terms of what they went through, finally facing the thing(s) they fear most.

The trailer looks promising in being pretty faithful to its source material, ripping scenes from the book and the adapted mini-series. The current films’ colors are darker than the previous version right off the bat, feeling much more ominously foreboding in its opening scenes (see the comparison video below).

However, the timelines have shifted. Instead of being set in the ’50s when the kids grew up in the book, it’s now modernized for the ’80s. At first glance, you might think this takes influence from Stranger Things, but it makes sense. My theory is that it’s adapted for the ’80s generation. Most of the kids who watched the miniseries when it came out were born in the ’80s and watched it when it came on TV in the ’90s. Plus if/when the sequel rolls around, the kids will have grown into adults with adult fears and those fears will be more malleable and empathetic to modern moviegoers and as a result, more adult than the “gritty” fears of the ’50s and the ’80s. Instead of shifting into a mummy or a wolfman, since Pennywise can shapeshift into what you fear most, thus the new movie’s interpretations could change into something that’s currently feared more. When you’re making a horror film, scariness is subjective. If what you’re doing isn’t scary enough to the audience, you’ll get laughed out of the box office. Also, I’m really glad to see kid actors playing these roles instead of 18 year olds or older. This movie wouldn’t feel right otherwise (besides, there should always be kid actors playing kids? Seems common sense to me, but I digress).

Obviously Skarsgård will have giant shoes to fill because Tim Curry is infamously known for his role in It. One thing that does bother me about the trailer is that we never get a long direct look at Pennywise for long, and we don’t know what it sounds like either… annoying, but it definitely leaves me in suspense, and impatiently waiting for whatever tease this production team has up their sleeves.

However, Skarsgård is fully aware of the shoes he’s supposed to fill.

it-credit-new-line-cinema-warner-bros-television
Comparison between Skarsgård and Curry’s costumes. Skarsgård looks like a bigger gothic Chucky, but I digress. Credit: New Line Cinema/Warner Bros. Television.

“Tim Curry’s performance was truly great, but it’s important for me to do something different because of that,” says Skårsgard to Entertainment Weekly. “I’ll never be able to make a Tim Curry performance as good as Tim Curry.”

Skarsgård spoke to EW almost a year ago about playing the titular role, talking about how much he researched clowns to play the part correctly.

“There’s a childishness to the character, because he’s so closely linked to the kids,” Skarsgård says. “The clown is the manifestation of children’s imaginations, so there’s something childlike about that.”

All of this has yours truly incredibly hyped to see this movie. I’m going to read the book and rewatch the miniseries in preparation. Stay tuned for my review because, whether I like it or not, I’m definitely seeing this when it hits theaters!

Trailer rating: 9/10

Leave a Reply

